Not all the greats get what they deserve.

Through the eyes of a wonderful line-up of writers, From the Jaws of Victory pays homage to club and international sides who captivated, inspired and astounded in equal measure, only to fall short of football’s biggest prizes.

The destination of these stories may be the same, but the journeys are equally glorious. The three best teams never to have won the World Cup can be found here — Hungary’s Golden Squad of 1954, the Netherlands’ Total Football exponents of 1974 and Brazil’s celebrated 1982 vintage — along with brilliant club sides through the ages, from Bolton Wanderers, humbled in the Matthews final of 1953, to Liverpool, devastated as the Premier League slipped from their grasp in 2014.

This comprehensive history ensures that though these teams might not have their names on the trophies, their influence on the game remains undimmed.

Foreword: Barney Ronay
Featuring: Scott Murray, John Ashdown, Andi Thomas, Patrick Barclay, Rob MacDonald, Daniel Chapman, Adam Bushby, Rob Langham, Stuart Fuller, Daniel Storey, Richard Hall, John Brewin, Emanuel Rosu, Daniel Gray, Michael Gibbons, Giancarlo Rinaldi, Terry Duffelen, Nicky Bandini, John Nicholson, Marcela Mora y Araujo, Brooks Peck, Filipe d’Avillez and Neil Atkinson.


Published by Callum McFadden

Football CFB founder. Freelance football writer & broadcaster of over 350 interviews with professional players and managers across all levels of football.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s